Your personal information is secure! Read our privacy statement

« Back to Login
By creating an account, you agree to abide by Entangled’s Terms of Use.
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
"Email" is not a valid hostname!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Email or Password is wrong!

Peek Inside Hearts Awakened

Mark lost his family and doesn’t want to have feelings for anyone, especially not his best friend’s baby sister, a victim of a terrible attack who has trust issues but wants to find love.

Availability: In stock

USD Buy today and earn 399 points!
Get your e-book automatically
delivered to your Kindle™ or
open directly on your iPad™,
phone, or computer.

Seventeen years ago, Officer Mark Cook lost everything when his pregnant wife disappeared, leaving an aching hole where his heart used to be. Knowing he failed his family, he’s never allowed himself to get close to losing his heart again, so the last thing he expects or wants is to start having feelings for his best friend’s baby sister.

Tori Calvert was attacked as a teenager, an event that shaped and changed her forever. All grown up now, she works as a rape crisis counselor and doesn’t venture much out of the shelter of her protective family. She’s known Mark forever and trusts him, but there’s always this fear getting in the way of what she wants. And what she wants is try and move forward, to see if together, she and Mark can heal their hearts and minds and find love.

Each book in the Hearts of the South series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed in any order.
Books in the series:
Book #1: Truth and Consequences
Book #2: His Ordinary Life
Book #3: Hold On to Me
Book #4: Anything But Mine
Book #5: Memories of Us
Book #6: Hearts Awakened
Book #7: Fall Into Me
Book #8: Facing It
Book #9: Uncovered
Book #10: Gone From Me
Book #11: All I Need

Additional Details

ISBN: 9781640633117
Series: Hearts of the South, Book 6
Release Date: Aug 21, 2017
Page Count: 238
Imprint: amara next
Genre: contemporary, law enforcement/firemen
Tropes: best friend's little sister, friends to lovers, opposites attract, second chance, unrequited love

Select Featured Reviews

See All Reviews on
By Geri Reads August 06, 2016

4.5 heartbreaking stars!

I adore this book. This book has been languishing in my Kindle since forever and I kinda overlooked it in favor of the more popular titles. Bad decision. I should have read this one sooner. Such a wonderfully written story about two flawed individuals who both suffered a grea ...more

By Pamela(AllHoney) February 25, 2013

Hearts Awakened is the 6th book in the Hearts of the South series by Linda Winfree. I read the first 4 and they were all good solid reads. I skipped book 5 simply because I don't have it yet. This story features Mark Cook, aka Cookie, a member of the sheriff's department. He is basically a man-slut. ...more

By Nicky June 01, 2012

I loved this. Definitely a 4.5 read for me. I couldn't quit reading today and even put the other book I was reading away to finish this one. Even as much of a man-whore Mark was I *LOVED* LOVED him. Both characters were so likeable even when Tori was irking me. This is only the second book I've read ...more

By Book Binge February 10, 2015

Hearts Awakened is book 6 in Linda Winfree’s Hearts of the South series. I think you really need to read at least the first book in this series before reading this one to understand what’s going on.

I think I may have enjoyed this story more if I’d re-read the earlier books before reading this one. A ...more

By ~Megan~ February 26, 2011

Been waiting on this book thevwhole series and it did not disappoint me! I love Cookie...he was so patient and understanding with Tori. I think Winfree was very realistic in how she wrote the trauma that goes along with a past rape, as well as the aftermath of what happened to Mark in the past. It w ...more

By Debbie October 30, 2016

Good series

The h had been assaulted years before and she fell in love with her brothers best friend but he was a player. There is a scene with him with another woman at the beginning and one after he acknowledged his attraction to her. Normally that is a book killer for me but I did continue and I g ...more

By Rhian May 17, 2010

Again I find myself crying while turning pages. Linda does romantic suspense brilliantly. ...more

By Bree January 15, 2009

One of my favorite books of 2008. ...more

By Lori August 19, 2010

4.5 stars. Reread in 2010. As before, love Mark and Tori. Tick being a jerk about Mark still bothered me, but not as much as the first read. Loving rereading this series. ...more

By Holly January 03, 2010

Good book. A few inconsistencies and minor plot holes bothered me, but otherwise it was another great entry in the Hearts of the South Series. ...more

By Veronica July 28, 2016

Reread. ...more

Showing 1 to 11 of 11
3.74 avg rating
Linda Winfree

About the author

Linda Winfree

How does an English teacher end up plotting murders? She uses her experiences as a cop's wife to become a writer of romantic suspense! Linda Winfree lives in a quintessential small Georgia town with her husband and grand-dog. By day, she teaches English/Language Arts and is an all-round education nerd; by night she pens sultry books full of murder and mayhem. To learn more about Linda and her books, visit or connect with her on Facebook at You can also contact Linda via email at [email protected]

entangled reward points