• Hilarious and Sexy New Contemporary Romance
  • The Bestselling Vampire Blood Series returns with The White Lily by Juliette Cross
  • Bestselling Paranormal Romance ebooks on sale for Halloween
  • Hot and Sexy new Romantic Suspense from Entangled Publishing

Registration

Your personal information is secure! Read our privacy statement







« Back to Login
By creating an account, you agree to abide by Entangled’s Terms of Use.
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
"Email" is not a valid hostname!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Email or Password is wrong!

Peek Inside Awakening

Desiree believes in everything the Protectorate stands for. She likes the safety and security of having her entire life planned out—until Darian escapes the Terrorscape—a nightmare machine used to punish all Noncompliants—and he needs Desiree’s help

Awakening

Availability: In stock

$7.99
USD Buy today and earn 799 points!
Get your e-book automatically
delivered to your Kindle™ or
open directly on your iPad™,
phone, or computer.

Desiree Six (because she was born on a Friday) believes in everything the Protectorate stands for. She likes the safety and security of having her entire life planned out—her career, her mate, even the date of her death. She doesn’t even think to question when Darian, her childhood friend and neighbor, is convicted of murdering his parents. They had seemed like such a loving family. But if he was convicted, then he must have done it.

Then Darian shows up in her room late one night. He has escaped the Terrorscape—a nightmare machine used to punish all Noncompliants—and he needs Desiree’s help. What he tells her rocks her world to its core and makes her doubt everything she’s ever been told. With this new information, will Desiree and Darian be able to escape the Protectorate before it’s too late?

Praise

“Fell hard and fast for Darian, and was completely swept away by the vivid, imaginative world Shannon created. Loved it!!” —Rachel Harris, New York Times Bestselling Author

Additional Details

ISBN: 9781622665273
Release Date: Apr 7, 2015
Page Count: 304
Imprint: teen
Genre: dystopian, young adult
Tropes: overcoming odds

Select Featured Reviews

See All Reviews on Goodreads.com
By Claire May 23, 2015

4.5 - "Destiny waits." Stars!

It is inevitable, that there will be comparisons between Awakening and other popular dystopian series such as the Divergent and Hunger Games books. I would be lying if I didn’t say there are massive similarities between this book and those series. But, and it is a big... ...more

By Brenda February 04, 2015

I was so lucky to read this while Shannon was writing it. The story is gripping and will keep you turning the pages. I can't wait to read Desiree's and Darien's story again! ...more

By Rachel February 04, 2015

Honored to have read this while Shannon was writing it. Fell hard and fast for Darian, and was completely swept away by the vivid, imaginative world Shannon created. Loved it!! ...more

By Teresa Mary Rose April 11, 2015

More Reviews Here: Readers Live A Thousand Lives

When I was offered this book for review, I jumped on it. I have been reading so much contemporary lately that I just needed something outside of that and Awakening sounded like just the right book. I needed something that was different from what I h... ...more

By Heather April 16, 2015

I read a lot of dystopian novels and a lot of them even though they are well written follow the same basic plot, was Awakening any different?

Yes and No, let's start with the No, it is a young adult dystopian and forbidden romance is a major part of the plot, there is a manipulative governing body... ...more

By Meredith April 19, 2015

Awakening really took me by surprise. It started out like every other YA Dystopian. But then I realized, at this point, it’s almost impossible to come up with an original Dystopian plot line, so I let it go and just tried to enjoy the book. Boy, was I wrong! While some parts were definitely clich... ...more

By Ayah April 16, 2015

I received an eARC of Awakening in exchange with my honest review during the Awakening Blog Tour hosted by YA Blog tours.


Shannon Duffy mixes several popular aspects from the YA culture, and adds her own touch of individuality when she speculates the concepts of sleep,dreams,and nightmares to come... ...more

By Maliha April 19, 2015

Awakening is perfect for fans of Divergent, Delirium, Legend, Abandon, Matched and Hunger Games. It was a good read and I want the sequel (if there is one) already!

Evil government, society divided into groups/classes, rebel/government enemy turned hero - this book has them all. I have read so man... ...more

By Vi (the Vi3tBabe) April 06, 2015

Awakening was exactly the kind of dystopian book that I can get into. It’s not too heavy on the frivolous details or info dumps, but filled with engaging characters and action scenes to keep the story flowing quickly and smoothly. Sure, I had some questions about the society as a whole and how it... ...more

By Valerie April 10, 2015

It's been awhile since I've read and enjoyed a YA dytopica as much as I did this one. Contemporary has taken over my TBR list lately and I've been craving something different. This landed in my inbox from Entangled Teen and I thought, why not. So glad I decided to read it.



This world that Desiree... ...more

By Sandra "Jeanz" March 13, 2015

INITIAL THOUGHTS
I have actually read another book by this author and loved it so I have high expectations for this book. I do like the level of description and writing style of this author. Then the blurb certainly piques my interest.

MY REVIEW
I received a free ecopy of this book from the publishe... ...more

By Michelle April 04, 2015

**You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: http://bookbriefs.net** 

I loved Awakening. It's a young adult dystopian. I don't read too many dystopians anymore, and I am pretty picky when it comes to choosing which ones to read. I heard that Darian was going to be a swoon worthy guy, an... ...more

By Sierra the Nerdgirl May 25, 2015

I received an unsolicited ARC of Awakening from Entangled Teen. Going into the book, I knew little about it except it was a dystopian novel and there was a thing called The Terrorscape. Once I started reading the book, I got absorbed by the world Shannon Duffy created.

The concept behind this dyst... ...more

By Nicole April 06, 2015

***I received a free e-copy of this book from the publishers of Entangled Teen in exchange for my honest review. Originally posted at tnicolepayne.blogspot.com***

So you have the hot bad boy and the goody good girl but the girl is matched with another guy and then there's a corrupted government. S... ...more

By Sasha April 05, 2015

* ARC sent by publisher in exchange for an honest review *

I snatch up every Entangled Teen book that comes my way, but I knew when the publisher reached out personally and sent this ARC my way, it was going to be good, real good.

This is the first Shannon Duffy novel I've read and what a thrillin... ...more

By Nichole Elizabeth April 23, 2015

3.5 Stars

“This was Darian One Sterling. A murderer. And my childhood friend.”

So I know I should not make this connection at all because they are two completely different books, but this book started out with a very Matched feeling to me. And I really disliked that book, however, the writing in... ...more

By Ally May 08, 2015

YABC.

YA Dystopian, Awakening brings a world where everyone is required to use a dreaming machine (called Dreamscape) to sleep. Now, many of us take sleep for granted. Many of us don't have insomnias, parasomnias, hypersomnias, and everything in between. But I find Duffy's approach greatly interes... ...more

By Sharon April 27, 2015

Review: 4 out of 5 stars

Awakening was kindly provided to me by Entangled Teen in exchange for my honest review.

Our MC is Desiree Six – The six being the sixth day of the week and the number that determines the age when someone will die. She has always believed in the Protectorate and the laws tha... ...more

By Elaine April 19, 2015

This is supposedly aimed at teens but, although I left my teens more years ago than I care to remember, I was totally enthralled by this novel - and the ending has me hoping to read the sequel asap! In this dystopian world everyone has an implant which helps ensure they all have a lovely night’s... ...more

By Kelly March 30, 2015

I received an advance copy of this book from Entangled after entering a contest.

This is the first book I have read by Shannon Duffy, something I plan to remedy in the future now that I have read Awakening. From the first page the story of Desiree Six, her family and life pulls you in with the ne... ...more

By K.M. Robinson March 23, 2015

I adored Awakening! I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC ebook of Awakening and I finished it in a day. I couldn't put it down and now I'm dying for the sequel. Shannon Duffy's world of Tower is brought to life through the eyes of Desiree, a rule-following daughter and friend who soon learns... ...more

By Simone March 30, 2015

I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

What if your life was already completely figured out for you, right down to when you'll actually die? Desiree Six Haven thought her life was perfect. The Protectorate decided what each child would be when they grew up and their... ...more

By Fallon April 19, 2015

Thank you so much Entangled Teen for sending me a finished copy of Awakening by Shannon Duffy for review. This in no way effects my opinion or changes my review.

Desiree lives in a society of structure and order. No longer do nightmares or crime of any kind plague their world. Once they reach a ce... ...more

By Kimber April 22, 2015

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review

Awakening was a fast-paced, intriguing story about a supposedly utopian society that really wasn't as wonderful as advertised. I loved the Dreamscape/Terrorscape aspect of the plot. The Terrorscape sounded truly terrifying!

Darie... ...more

By Katrina April 07, 2015

Review: Awakening Review
 I finished this book within 24 hours.  I didn't want to put it down.  Duffy drew me into this world from page 1. 
Desiree is a great character.  She may seem complacent, but she begins questioning everything.  She doesn't know what to believe, and whom she should trust. ... ...more

Showing 1 to 25 of 25
4.00 avg Goodreads.com rating
Shannon Duffy

About the author

Shannon Duffy

Shannon Duffy is a middle grade and young adult author. Born and raised in the scenic province of Newfoundland, she currently lives in beautiful Ontario. She also spends as much time as possible in Florida, which is her home away from home. If she’s not hanging out with her family, she’s writing or reading, working out, shopping, or trolling a beach somewhere tropical. Visit her at http://www.shannonduffylit.com.

entangled reward points