Your personal information is secure! Read our privacy statement

« Back to Login
By creating an account, you agree to abide by Entangled’s Terms of Use.
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
"Email" is not a valid hostname!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Email or Password is wrong!

Peek Inside Facing It

Ruthie finds security with Chris, but trusting the strong, quiet cop creates its own set of complications, especially when her abusive ex shows up to get the evidence Ruthie has on him.

Availability: In stock

USD Buy today and earn 399 points!
Get your e-book automatically
delivered to your Kindle™ or
open directly on your iPad™,
phone, or computer.

Ruthie Chason is determined to take her life back, so she packs up her kids and flees her abusive husband. She doesn't know if the evidence she has that could put her husband away for good will buy her safety or put in her more danger. She finds security with Deputy Chris Parker, but trusting the strong, quiet cop creates its own set of complications.

When Chris offers to protect Ruthie and her children, no one is more surprised than him. There's something about Ruthie's inner strength that calls to him. Now if only he could silence the voice in his head cautioning him against falling too fast for any woman.

Just when it seems they could start to explore how healing love can be, Ruthie s past catches up with all of them and backs them into corner.

Each book in the Hearts of the South series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed in any order.
Books in the series:
Book #1: Truth and Consequences
Book #2: His Ordinary Life
Book #3: Hold On to Me
Book #4: Anything But Mine
Book #5: Memories of Us
Book #6: Hearts Awakened
Book #7: Fall Into Me
Book #8: Facing It
Book #9: Uncovered
Book #10: Gone From Me
Book #11: All I Need


"Another one in the series that I really liked. There is a secondary romance in the story between two FBI agents. Love this series!" --Pamela, Goodreads

"If you haven't picked up the Hearts of the South series, yet, I really recommend it." --Renee, Goodreads

"Once more Linda had me spellbound from the first page. Definitely a must read and a keeper as far as I'm concerned." --Rhian Cahill, Goodreads

Additional Details

ISBN: 9781640633131
Series: Hearts of the South, Book 8
Release Date: Aug 21, 2017
Page Count: 327
Imprint: amara next
Genre: contemporary, law enforcement/firemen
Tropes: bodyguard/protector, revenge, second chance

Select Featured Reviews

See All Reviews on
By Pamela(AllHoney) October 23, 2017

The eighth book in the Hearts of the South series by Linda Winfree. Ruthie Chason made the decision to leave her controlling criminal of a husband, along with her three children and heads back to her family in Georgia. But she takes her husband's ledgers with her. Knowing this may be her death sente ...more

By Book Binge February 10, 2015

*This review was originally published in 2009. For some reason it disappeared from our database when we switched to our new site.

I’m a huge fan of Linda Winfree’s Hearts of the South series. Although I’ve had issues with some of her books in the past, she continues on as one of my auto-buy authors. ...more

By Leslie April 16, 2012

Rating: B

I just can't seem to keep myself away from this series! This time it's the quiet deputy Chris Parker along with his police dog Hound who fall for the abused sister of Chris' friend and boss. Ruthie and her kids run home after escaping the man who controlled their lives. In Facing It Winfree ...more

By ~Megan~ February 28, 2011

I've been waiting for Chris Parker's story for awhile, and it turned out so different than anything I could have imagined. It was obvious he had some issues from his past, and falling in love with Ruthie (sister to Tick and Tori) brought those issues to the forefront. It was interesting to see domes ...more

By Lori August 23, 2010

Reread in 2010.

I loved both Ruthie and Chris. But I felt that the romance happened too quickly for Ruthie's past, and it bothered me that that Ruthie was the one who instigated the hurried pace.

I like that they agreed to go slowly, though (even if they couldn't keep to that promise). It showed they ...more

By Carol July 04, 2015

In Facing It, we meet another member of the Calvert family, Ruth Ann (Ruthie Calvert) Chason. She is paired with the somewhat mysterious deputy Chris, who has been seen by fans of the HOTS series in previous books. Readers get a bonus along with the romance and suspense in Facing It, by way of a sec ...more

By Rhian May 17, 2010

Once more Linda had me spellbound from the first page. Definitely a must read and a keeper as far as I'm concerned. ...more

By Cam March 29, 2012

It was a good story. Should of left the second romance story out and just focus on Chris & Ruthie's romance. ...more

Showing 1 to 8 of 8
3.92 avg rating
Linda Winfree

About the author

Linda Winfree

How does an English teacher end up plotting murders? She uses her experiences as a cop's wife to become a writer of romantic suspense! Linda Winfree lives in a quintessential small Georgia town with her husband and grand-dog. By day, she teaches English/Language Arts and is an all-round education nerd; by night she pens sultry books full of murder and mayhem. To learn more about Linda and her books, visit or connect with her on Facebook at You can also contact Linda via email at [email protected]

entangled reward points