Your personal information is secure! Read our privacy statement

« Back to Login
By creating an account, you agree to abide by Entangled’s Terms of Use.
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
"Email" is not a valid hostname!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Email or Password is wrong!

Peek Inside His Ordinary Life

Barbara doesn’t know if her heart can take being broken again, but how can she not take a risk on the man she still loves, the man doing everything to save their son?

Availability: In stock

USD Buy today and earn 399 points!
Get your e-book automatically
delivered to your Kindle™ or
open directly on your iPad™,
phone, or computer.

When it seems like Del Calvert’s teenage son is somehow involved in a murder case, he’s thrown back together with his ex, Barbara. He’s ready to do whatever it takes to save his son and keep his family safe—and they are still a family. Being around Barbara again makes him realize how much he didn’t appreciate what he had when he had it.

Barbara Calvert is afraid to need anyone—especially the man who still holds her heart, whether he knows it or not. But with her son in a complicated situation that’s put their whole family in danger, she has no choice but to lean on Del and work together. Del wants a second chance, and while she doesn’t know if her heart can take being broken again, how can she not take a risk on the man she still loves?

Each book in the Hearts of the South series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed in any order.
Books in the series:
Book #1: Truth and Consequences
Book #2: His Ordinary Life
Book #3: Hold On to Me
Book #4: Anything But Mine
Book #5: Memories of Us
Book #6: Hearts Awakened
Book #7: Fall Into Me
Book #8: Facing It
Book #9: Uncovered
Book #10: Gone From Me
Book #11: All I Need

Additional Details

ISBN: 9781640633070
Series: Hearts of the South, Book 2
Release Date: Aug 21, 2017
Page Count: 310
Imprint: amara next
Genre: contemporary, law enforcement/firemen
Tropes: marriage in trouble, overcoming odds, redemption, relationship in trouble, reunited lovers, second chance

Select Featured Reviews

See All Reviews on
By BookLover May 28, 2017

Originally read in 2013, re-read in 2016 in anticipation of new books in the series being released this year. (so excited!!!)

I enjoyed this even more the second time around. This book had less of a suspense aspect to it and instead dove into the failed marriage of Del and Barb. Lack o... ...more

By Pamela(AllHoney) February 04, 2011

The second book in Linda Winfree's Hearts of the South series. Not a huge fan of the troubled marriage plot-line but I liked this one. Del and his wife, Barb, are in the process of getting a divorce when their son starts having some behavior problems. Del comes back to help out and finds his son in mo...

By UniquelyMoi ~ BlithelyBookish November 19, 2015

His Ordinary Life is the second book in the Hearts of the South series, and a pretty good installment. It's a second-chance romance which delves deeply into the importance of, and what it means to be, a family.

After almost 20 years of marriage, Del and Barbara Calvert are calling it quits. Their divorce...

By Geri Reads December 13, 2013

4.5 stars!

I am loving this series! I can't believe it took me this long to start reading it.

His Ordinary Life is Linda Winfree's second book from her Heart of the South series. This book is the story about Del and Barbara Calvert. They married right out of high school after Barbara got pregnant. They'r...

Showing 1 to 15 of 15
3.96 avg rating
Linda Winfree

About the author

Linda Winfree

How does an English teacher end up plotting murders? She uses her experiences as a cop's wife to become a writer of romantic suspense! Linda Winfree lives in a quintessential small Georgia town with her husband and grand-dog. By day, she teaches English/Language Arts and is an all-round education nerd; by night she pens sultry books full of murder and mayhem. To learn more about Linda and her books, visit or connect with her on Facebook at You can also contact Linda via email at [email protected]

entangled reward points