Registration







« Back to Login
By creating an account, you agree to abide by Entangled’s Terms of Use.
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
"Email" is not a valid hostname!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Email or Password is wrong!

Peek Inside Take It Like a Vamp

Vampire Nick Christos might’ve been born in the Middle Ages, but the good old days seem tame compared to the last eight years he’s spent ruling the Supernatural Council. His only respite is with his cute neighbor Casey Meyers, a woman he wants more than any undead man should. Now he’ll risk everything to save the human he’s come to love.

Availability: In stock

$2.99
USD Buy today and earn 299 points!
Get your e-book automatically
delivered to your Kindle™ or
open directly on your iPad™,
phone, or computer.

Vampire Nick Christos might’ve been born in the Middle Ages, but the good old days seem tame compared to the last eight years he’s spent ruling the Supernatural Council. His only respite is with his cute neighbor Casey Meyers, a woman he wants more than any undead man should. Sure, he’s forced to take a cold shower after every encounter, but there’s no way he’ll test his own strength by getting too close to a human, and he’s not willing to risk her life–not with bloodthirsty family on the prowl out to ruin Nick’s life.

When said Nick’s kin shows up, the innocent Casey is caught in the middle of a centuries old fight, and Nick’s biggest fear is realized. Now, instead of keeping his hands off his neighbor, he’ll risk everything to save the human he’s come to love.

Praise

“Candace Havens has created a plausible scenario of how vampires might live today with great wealth, infighting and natural human needs warring with blood lust. A dash of magic and werewolf inheritance add to the mix of this sumptuous cocktail.” ~ Fresh Fiction

“Sexy, full of adventure, and laugh-out-loud funny!” ~ NY Times Bestselling author, Laura Kaye

Additional Details

ISBN: 9781622669509
Series: Take It Like a Vamp, Book 1
Release Date: May 20, 2013
Page Count: 229
Imprint: covet
Genre: paranormal, vampires
Tropes: friends to lovers, girl next door

Select Featured Reviews

See All Reviews on Goodreads.com
By A.D. August 08, 2012

I love vamp stories. LOVE vamp stories, but I tend to be a wee bit picky about them. What drew me in to this story first, was the title. I am a sucker for the double entendre. Plus, when a story starts with a character mentioning panty-melting, I know I'm in for a few laughs.

I read through this... ...more

By ♥Rachel♥ September 11, 2012


3.5 Stars

Take it Like a Vamp is a sweet romance with a little paranormal and spice mixed in.

Casey is not very lucky in the romance department. Every man she’s dated in the last few months has turned out to be a loser. What she’d really like is to find someone like her best friend and neighbor, N... ...more

By Kelly August 29, 2012

Take it Like A Vamp
By: Candace Havens
Published by: Entangled Publishing, LLC
Reviewed by: Kelly H.

I loved, loved, loved this book! It was a fun, quick read which I had a lot of trouble putting down.
It was filled with interesting and entertaining characters which were incredibly hard not to fall in... ...more

By A.R. August 14, 2012

I was hooked from the first page! Absolutely adored Casey’s character and the whole girl next door, best friends with a side of HOT vamp thing going on. Yea, besides being a kind, caring, wealthy and stunning vampire; Nick is best friends with Casey and treats her like platinum. If you ask me, th... ...more

By TheGeekyBlogger July 22, 2012

Read for Review
Overall Rating 4.25
Character Rating 4.50
Story Rating 4.00

First thought when Finished: What a deliciously fun read for a hot scorching afternoon! :)

What I thought of the Characters: I loved the characters in Take it Like a Vamp! Nick was the smoldering hottie that we, aka me, wished... ...more

By Linda May 26, 2013

HE LIVES NEXT DOOR, AND HE'S A VAMPIRE

Nick Christos has been around for 800 years. In all that time no one has got under his skin like his sexy neighbour Casey Meyers.
But being a vampire prevents him from getting to close to Casey who is human. He's taken more cold showers since he met Casey than... ...more

By Mary Ann August 09, 2012

I really liked these characters! You know, reading paranormal romance there's a certain amount of head douche that has to go into the mythology so you're not comparing to every other story you've read. Once you get past that, enjoy! We've got a strong, mousy-but-beautiful, witty, independent fema... ...more

By Stephanie June 20, 2013

Opa! Take it Like A Vamp Original Post: http://fangswandsandfairydust.blogspo...


A Greek Salad of lust, romance and international supernatural political intrigue.

The characters, in this book are usually loveable, especially Casey, Nick and Linc, and one is a whole lotta Cruella Deville (Alvina). I... ...more

By Shelly August 24, 2012

Review posted at Red Hot Books

Shy and reserved Casey Meyers has had a crush on her neighbor Nick Christos since she moved into his building. Nick, a vampire, has also been crushing on his human neighbor Casey since she moved into her Aunt Teddie’s condo nine months prior. Once these two get toget... ...more

By Latochia August 18, 2012

I have to admit, The Twilight Series got me into loving vampire books. But then I got into a more adult version of them, and I am constantly looking for authors who can add a bit of grown-up thoughts to the storyline.
Take it Like a Vamp was one of those stories.
The story deals with a Vampire nam... ...more

By SW August 16, 2012

Review to come. I kinda liked this book....!!!

Okay review time. This book had some hilarious lines, the love story is kind of already there. Two neighbors that have lusted/loved each other since they've met. Nick is the hot next door neighbor who's secretly a vamp, and Casey is the low self estee... ...more

By Chrystina August 08, 2012

What a fun read! This book was quick and lighthearted, perfect for a beach read or cozy evening in! A really good paranormal romance with lots of comedy!

Casey was hilarious, I loved waiting to see what was going to come out of her mouth next. I can honestly say that she is my favorite character i... ...more

By Erica August 25, 2012

Nick and Casey have been best friends since she had moved in to her Aunt Teddie's high rise apartment. Unfortunately, that's the problem. She wants more, and feels she can't compete with the model-like women parading in and out of Nick's apartment. Nick, can't stand the men that Casey's been seei... ...more

By Erica August 02, 2012

4.5 stars

Take It Like a Vamp by Candace Havens was a book I really enjoyed! I had to put this one down to go to work and I was just itching to get back to reading. This is just a totally fun book.

Casey was one of my favorite heroines in a book in a long time. She was so genuine and all around ju... ...more

By Donna July 24, 2012

Fans of Molly Harper, MaryJanice Davidson, and Katie MacAlister will enjoy this fun PNR by Candace Havens.
Vampire Nick has lusted after his neighbor Casey for the entire 9 months he’s known her. She is a breath of fresh air. Mostly I think because she offers him friendship without strings. He is... ...more

By Madison June 30, 2015

Take it Like a Vamp by Candace Havens

Flirty and fun. Very little actual vampire stuff until very late in the book. This is more about good friends taking that next step. And it's exciting, tempting and just a little sexy.
Casey needs to learn to like herself but I totally understand her thought pr... ...more

By Melissa July 24, 2012

I really enjoyed this book but I wanted an epilogue with them and kids but that is just me. Nick and Casey are made for each other but their insecurities about themselves keep them apart. Nick is sweet, caring, and a bit overprotective but you love him any way. Casey is beautiful inside and out b... ...more

By Emma August 04, 2012

Well I bought this before going to bed, and lets just say I didn't get a lot of sleep. Casey the lead female is adorable bright, witty and relatable right from the start. Nick the lead male is equally likeable if you like your men, hot, rich, powerful with a dangerous edge. Who doesn't! Even the... ...more

By Patricia July 23, 2012

This is such a fun read, I tore right through it! It's witty and you really get to know (and love) the main characters. The protagonist, Casey, is hilarious and it's easy to identify with her. Nick is definitely swoon-worthy, as is his best friend, Linc, who makes a great secondary character. The... ...more

By Christine Smith August 01, 2012

I loved reading this. It had me laughing pretty much from the get-go. The story captured me and I finished it in 2 days. And it made me want more. I'm looking forward to next one because there are some unanswered questions... ...more

By Romancing the April 07, 2013

Reviewed by: Indera
Book provided by: Publisher
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

I enjoyed this book. I was expecting more “paranormal” happenings in this book, but I was not disappointed. I categorized this book as a contemporary romance sprinkled with some paranormal spices.

This boo... ...more

By Marsha December 31, 2015

First reviewed at Keeper Bookshelf

Let me say, right here at the start, that Take It Like A Vamp is one of the sexiest, most entertaining, purely fun paranormal romances I have read in a while. I picked up the next in the series, Baby’s Got Bite a few weeks ago, and decided before I started the s... ...more

By Jeannie May 26, 2013

Take it Like a Vamp. Candace Havens

ARC supplied by Netgalley.
Sometimes you want a solid, in depth read, and then sometimes some humour and romance is what you need.That's how I felt after finishing a fantasy trilogy recently, so Take it Like a Vamp was just perfect. Candace is an author new to m... ...more

By Jamie March 24, 2014

I enjoyed it, I really did, but it all seemed so...surface, if that makes any sense. Not the two main characters. Them I felt like I truly knew. And liked. Especially Casey, even with her extreme self-esteem issues. I mean, I get feeling a little inadequate at times, it's a human condition, but... ...more

By Rhianna August 16, 2012

PNR for the non-PNR fan...

Ruling the Supernatural Council is a tough job. Not only does Nick Christos have to keep the peace between lots of different supernatural races, but they expect him to have a wife now too. His neighbor Casey Meyers would make a wonderful partner in eternity but for the o... ...more

Showing 1 to 25 of 25
3.61 avg Goodreads.com rating
Candace Havens

About the author

Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written multiple novels for Berkley, Entangled and Harlequin. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. And she is the Editorial Director for the Covet, Edge and Select lines at Entangled Publishing. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 2200 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Hawkeye & Dorsey on 96.3, and is a former President of the Television Critics Association.

entangled reward points