Registration

Your personal information is secure! Read our privacy statement







« Back to Login
By creating an account, you agree to abide by Entangled’s Terms of Use.
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
"Email" is not a valid hostname!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Email or Password is wrong!

Peek Inside The Lying Planet

Jay Lawton has been aiming for the colony of Promise City his entire life on the planet Liberty. All that stands in his way is The Machine, a mysterious device that will scan his brain and Test his deeds. But when, in one sleepless night, everything he thought he knew about the adults in his colony changes, it’ll be up to Jay and the beautiful rebel, Peyton, to save the others before the ceremonies are over and the hunting begins.

The Lying Planet

Availability: In stock

$3.99
USD Buy today and earn 399 points!
Get your e-book automatically
delivered to your Kindle™ or
open directly on your iPad™,
phone, or computer.

There’s only one way out.

Promise City. That’s the colony I’ve been aiming for all my life on the planet Liberty. The only thing standing in my way? The Machine. On my eighteenth birthday, this mysterious, octopus-like device will scan my brain and Test my deeds. Good thing I’ve been focusing on being Jay Lawton, hard worker and rule follower, my whole life. Freedom is just beyond my fingertips.

Or so I thought. Two weeks before my Testing with the Machine, I’ve stumbled upon a new reality. The truth. In a single sleepless night, everything I thought I knew about the adults in our colony changes. And the only one who’s totally on my side is the clever, beautiful rebel, Peyton. Together we have to convince the others to sabotage their Testings before it’s too late.

Before the ceremonies are over and the hunting begins.

Praise

Review
"I am absolutely in love with this story ... one of the most riveting sci-fi reads yet!" --Esther Dalseno, author of Drown

"Perfect for fans of Beth Revis!" --Cidney Swanson, author of Saving Mars

"WOW--I seriously could not tear myself away from this book!" --Kimberly Afe, author of The Headhunters Race

5 stars: "Breathtaking, extremely fast paced and completely imaginative The Lying Planet had me riveted until the last page. Highly recommended to all lovers of the genre." -Brenda, Goodreads Reviewer

5 stars: "...what this reminds me of is sort of the good old fashion campy sci-fi/horror." -Carrie, Carrie's Book Reviews

5 stars: "Carol Riggs' The Lying Planet is young adult science fiction at its best as one boy keeps a level head in the face of death and deceit for the sake of humanity's future. And you thought your parents were evil because they lied to you about the Easter Bunny? Hang on tight as the tension ramps up, and the race is on for survival against the odds as teens are forced to come of age and make the hard decisions no child should have to make." -Dianne, Tome Tender

5 stars: "I couldn't put it down. This is not the type of book I normally read, but I think I found a new favorite author!! This book was very well written, and there will be times when you wish you could jump into the story and scream and yell, or fight along-side the characters. If there were more than 5 stars for ratings, I would give this book extra stars!!" -Kalli Bunch, Goodreads Reviewer

5 stars: "Read on you won't be disappointed." -Debbie Bratt, Goodreads Reviewer

5 stars: "Although I don't read a lot of sci-fi stories, this book-- 'The Lying Planet' completely nailed it. Once I started reading, I had the hardest time putting it down." -Denise, Goodreads Reviewer

5 stars: "This fantastic story kept me on the edge of my seat anxiously turning pages to discover what happens next. The characters are so well written I felt as though I knew them and really felt for each one of them as they went through the struggles from ignorance to frightful knowledge." -Liesl Biddell, Goodreads Reviewer

Additional Details

ISBN: 9781633757578
Release Date: Sep 19, 2016
Page Count: 285
Imprint: teen
Genre: aliens, sci-fi, young adult
Tropes: overcoming odds, political scandal

Select Featured Reviews

See All Reviews on Goodreads.com
By Nicole April 10, 2017

The Lying Planet!!! First things first: I received this book through NetGalley.
 
Once again this is one of the books I have on my kindle app for forever and I hate that I haven't read this earlier. Damn it.
 
Summary: Promise City. That’s the colony I’ve been aiming for all m... ...more

By Siobhan July 29, 2017

The synopsis of The Lying Planet really grabbed me, and I instantly knew it was a book I wanted to read. Despite my interest, it took me a while to start the book. I kept delaying it to read other things, kept bumping it down my to-read list. I’m rather annoyed with myself for doing such a thing... ...more

By Gavin July 06, 2018

So, I received this as a gift from a friend, and to that friend, I say this:
Thank You!

TLP is a nice, originally realistic sci-fi novel, which takes place in the future; a future where earth is forced to send off some of its inhabitants to another planet, called Liberty.
The plan... ...more

By Moriah September 23, 2016

*This review can also be found here on A Leisure Moment*

**I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review**


description

When I saw this cover, I knew I had to...

By Brenda September 12, 2016

Jay Lawton had spent his life working hard on the planet Liberty. His parents had taught their children to strive for the best and Jay was known for his diligence. His elder brother Chad was already in Promise City and Jay hoped to join him when he was tested on his eighteenth birthday. The only... ...more

By Carrie September 11, 2016

Jay Lawton lives on the planet Liberty with his parents and younger siblings. When the children on Liberty turn eighteen they are put in a machine that will determine whether their good deeds they've done so far in their lives outweigh the bad. Higher scores equal special prizes to start their ne... ...more

By Melissa (YA Book Shelf) September 06, 2016

Seriously impossible to put down. If you like sci-fi set on other planets with parallels to Earth, if you appreciate villains who are super creepy, but who, in a few instances, seem to show some compassion...just not long enough...then you'll want to pick this one up.

Jay is such a strong charact... ...more

By Kaitlin September 12, 2016

My review can be found on my blog :)

http://kaitbooktopia.blogspot.com/201... ...more

By Dianne September 19, 2016

Celebrate the Release of THE LYING PLANET with Carol Riggs! Enter to WIN a $25 Amazon Gift Card
http://tometender.blogspot.com/2016/09/carol-riggs-lying-planet-tour-giveaway.html
Click on Banner to Enter!

Study hard, they said. Be kind, have honor and trust in the system and you will be g...

Showing 1 to 25 of 25
4.00 avg Goodreads.com rating
Carol Riggs

About the author

Carol Riggs

Carol Riggs lives in the beautiful green state of Oregon, USA. She enjoys reading, drawing and painting, writing conferences, walking with her husband, and enjoying music and dance of all kinds. You will usually find her in her writing cave, surrounded by her dragon collection and the characters in her head.

entangled reward points